Tanzania is a coined word of two names Tanganyika and Zanzibar (Tan-Zan). The two states united in 1964 to form the United Republic of Tanzania. Before this union, the mainland Tanganyika became a Sovereign state on 9th December 1961 and Zanzibar became independent on 19th December 1963.

The United Republic of Tanzania is a nation in East Africa bordered by Kenya and Uganda to the north; Rwanda, Burundi and the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the west; Zambia, Malawi and Mozambique to the south, and to the east it’s bordered by the Indian Ocean.

Tanzania is the largest country in East Africa, made up of 30 regions, with a total population of circa 50 million people. The official National Language, used by its 120 tribes, is Kiswahili (Swahili) but English is widely used in official as well as unofficial communication among people.

The Capital City is Dodoma and the major commercial city is Dar es Salaam. The official currency is Tanzanian shilling however major international currencies (€, $, £) are accepted.

Tanzania is among countries that have active democracy in Africa; it practices good governance, rule of law and respect for human rights. All these, coupled with the ongoing initiatives to improve infrastructures and its abundant natural resources (forestry, oil, gas, gold, diamond and Tanzanite), guarantee Tanzania a great potential to attain higher developments.


Tanzania is a Safe country to visit. You can travel anywhere from north to south, west to east and meet thousand welcomes from friendly Tanzanians whilst exploring and enjoying unlimited natural, wildlife and cultural attractions which rank highly in the global tourism industry. It’s for these reasons that we invite you to visit a country that has everything tourists long for and dream of, when they think of visiting Africa, Tanzania.

error: Content is protected !!